7/30/2021 (辛丑年[牛] 农历二零二一年六月廿一 星期五)
         Create an account   Log In    Web Mail
HomeOACAChinese SchoolChinese Culturale ResourceContact  

DONATE TO OACA ONLINE VIA PAYPAL NOW


Or

News, Letter from City of Olympia Mayor - Stop Asian Hate

-------- Forwarding a letter from the Mayor -------- 


From: Dani Madrone <dmadrone@ci.olympia.wa.us>
Date: March 28, 2021 at 8:55:03 AM PDT
To: mingta_lin@comcast.net
Cc: Councilmembers <Councilmembers@ci.olympia.wa.us>, Jay Burney <jburney@ci.olympia.wa.us>, Aaron Jelcick <ajelcick@ci.olympia.wa.us>, Debbie Sullivan <dsulliva@ci.olympia.wa.us>, Keith Stahley <kstahley@ci.olympia.wa.us>, Stacey Ray <sray@ci.olympia.wa.us>, Olivia Salazar de Breaux <osalazar@ci.olympia.wa.us>, Kellie Braseth <kbraseth@ci.olympia.wa.us>

Subject:
OACA letter

Hello Mingta,
 
Thank you for your timely letter about the safety needs of our AIP community members. We would love to have your support in the work ahead of us, especially since the people you serve best know how they need to be included and protected.
 
On January 19th, the Olympia City Council released a statement (attached) about the growing threat of white supremacist extremism, with which we made commitments to protect our whole community. One of our commitments reads:

We direct the city manager to develop a public safety plan to protect the community from the rising threat of domestic terrorism and white supremacist extremism. This work should be interjurisdictional, responsive to credible threats, consider local ordinances we can enact, and be informed by those in the community most likely to be targeted by extremist violence to understand what they need to feel protected.”

 
This past Tuesday, we issued a statement (attached) of love and support in the aftermath of the horrific violence in Georgia, with which we offered resources for our community to report hate crimes and learn bystander intervention.
 
The city is also embarking on a community engagement processes on equity, justice, and reimagining public safety, where I hope you can help us by recruiting people to participate in upcoming community conversations. If there are any barriers to participating, we want to address those. More details to come!
 
The suggestions in your letter for how we can better protect our community from hate crimes helps to inform this work. Olympia values our AIP community members, and we want you to feel welcome, safe, and included.
 
Best,
 
Dani Madrone
she/her
Olympia City Council
dmadrone@ci.olympia.wa.us
 
*Our correspondence is a public record
 


Olympia Area Chinese Association (a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization) Copyright © 1980 - 2021
cheap air jordans cheap mercurial superfly Billige fotballsko cheap mercurial superfly Botas De Fútbol Baratas chuteiras baratas Chuteiras Baratas Cheap Golden Goose